EkPick

The best 4-burner gas stove on Amazon.in

listings read
30
shortlisted
27
picks
4
brand pages read
8

The short answer

Best for most people

Sujata Premium Gas Stove 4 Burners Glass Top

A 75 cm glass-top stove whose listing covers the complete product for 9 years, glass included, for most kitchens that have the width.

  • 9 years listed on the whole stove
  • 8 mm glass, ISI certified on the listing
  • 1 jumbo, 2 big and 1 small burner

The 3 alternatives, for other needs

  1. If you want it to light itselfElica 4 Burner Hob (RG FLEXI 470 LOTUS IND HD BRASS)

    A 70 cm battery auto-ignition hob that can sit on the counter or be built in, with 10 years listed on its burners, for kitchens that want to stop reaching for a lighter.

    Check price on Amazon.in
  2. If you want the gas cut off when a flame goes outBeyond Appliances Dorado 4 Burner Hobtop

    A 76 cm auto-ignition hobtop with a flame failure device on every burner and digital timers, for kitchens where a flame blown out by a draught or a boil-over is a real worry.

    Check price on Amazon.in
  3. If your counter is narrowerElica Slimline 4 Burner Gas Stove (694 CT VETRO SLIM LINE SPF 2J)

    A 69 cm manual glass-top stove whose size Elica's own page confirms, with 7 years on the glass and 5 on the burners, for counters where 75 cm won't fit.

    Check price on Amazon.in

Most 4-burner listings on Amazon.in sell the same things: a toughened glass top and brass burners. The differences that matter sit lower down. How big are the burners, how long is each part covered, does it light itself, and will it fit your counter?

We read 30 Amazon.in listings, shortlisted 27 and compared them on burner sizes, ignition, width, LPG or PNG use, and what each warranty covers and for how long. For 6 of the shortlisted stoves, from Elica, Beyond, Glen, Haute Kitchen and Prestige, we also read the brand's own product page or manual. We found no Sujata page for its gas stoves, so our pick rests on its Amazon.in listing. Nobody here has cooked on these stoves; this is a careful reading of what the listings and brands put in writing.

Our pick for most kitchens is the Sujata Premium, a 75 cm glass-top stove whose listing gives 9 years of warranty on the complete product, glass included, with service visits charged after the first 2 years. If your counter is narrower, the Elica Slimline is 69 cm wide. If you want it to light itself, Elica's RG FLEXI 470 hob lists 10 years on its burners. And if you worry about a flame blowing out, the Beyond Dorado has a flame failure device on every burner.

Best for most people

Sujata Premium Gas Stove 4 Burners Glass Top

Sujata · Pick 1 of 4

A 75 cm glass-top stove whose listing covers the complete product for 9 years, glass included, for most kitchens that have the width.

Check price on Amazon.in

Price and stock change daily; Amazon.in shows today's.

Ignition
Not stated on the listingAmazon.in listing
Size
75 x 55.5 x 12 cm (W x D x H)Amazon.in listing
Warranty
9 years on the complete product, glass included; service visits charged after 2 yearsAmazon.in listing
Burners
1 jumbo, 2 big, 1 small, forged brassAmazon.in listing
Glass
8 mm toughenedAmazon.in listing
Weight
17 kg 600 gAmazon.in listing

Why it's on the list

  • 9 years listed on the whole stove
  • 8 mm glass, ISI certified on the listing
  • 1 jumbo, 2 big and 1 small burner

Worth knowing

  • The listing never says how it lights. It mentions no ignition, lighter or battery anywhere, so if you want a stove that lights itself, ask the seller before you order.
  • Everything here comes from the Amazon.in listing alone. We found no Sujata page for this stove: the product list on Sujata Appliances' site has no gas stoves, and the listing names Mittal Electronics as the maker. The listing names no warranty exclusions and doesn't say whether a fault is repaired or the part replaced. Registration is by scanning a QR code on the product, manual or packaging.
  • None of its burners has a kW figure on the listing, so its jumbo and big burners can't be compared with the 2.5 kW burners given for the Elica RG FLEXI (listing and Elica's page), the Beyond Dorado (Beyond's page) and the Haute Evoque (Haute's page).

Skip it if your counter can't take a 75 cm stove, or you want auto ignition confirmed in writing.

The reasoning

The warranty is why it leads. Its listing gives 9 years on the complete product, glass included, and says so twice, in a bullet and in the warranty field. The catch sits in the same field: after the first 2 years, service visits are charged. Apart from the Sujata Standard, no other listing on the shortlist mentions 9 years, and the longer terms elsewhere cover one or two parts: 10 years on the Haute Evoque's glass and brass burner body, on the Prestige Vectra's glass and on the Elica RG FLEXI's burners. Haute's and Prestige's pages give 2 years on the rest of those stoves, and the RG FLEXI's listing gives 5 years on its glass and valves and 2 years comprehensive.

The listing is also clear on points the Elica Slimline's leaves out. It gives 8 mm toughened glass, says ISI certified, and names SABAF gas valves. It lists the burners as 1 jumbo, 2 big and 1 small, all forged brass, though with no kW figure for any of them. Its power source is given as LPG, and PNG conversion is charged, plus travel charges if you live beyond the city limits where its authorised service centre sits. The box adds a baati or tandoor stand, a mini pan support and a burner cleaning pin.

We weighed it against the Elica Slimline. The Slimline's size and burner layout are confirmed on Elica's page, but its listing doesn't mention ISI or PNG, gives no glass thickness, and covers the stove as a whole for 2 years. Against that, the Sujata is wider, 75 cm on its listing against 69 cm, and much heavier at 17 kg 600 g against 10 kg, and we have no brand page to check its listing against. Prestige's Magic Plus and Sunflame's Pride list 2 years of warranty, so neither came close on cover.

If you want it to light itself

Elica 4 Burner Hob (RG FLEXI 470 LOTUS IND HD BRASS)

Elica · Pick 2 of 4

A 70 cm battery auto-ignition hob that can sit on the counter or be built in, with 10 years listed on its burners, for kitchens that want to stop reaching for a lighter.

Check price on Amazon.in

Price and stock change daily; Amazon.in shows today's.

Ignition
Auto, battery operatedElica product page
Size
700 x 520 x 106 mmElica product page
Warranty
10 years burners, 5 years glass and valves, 2 years comprehensiveAmazon.in listing
Burners
2 x 2.5 kW, 2 x 1.7 kWElica product page
Pan supports
Cast ironElica product page
Weight
16 kg 300 gAmazon.in listing

Worth knowing

  • Neither the listing nor Elica's page mentions ISI marking, and the listing doesn't mention a flame failure device or name any warranty exclusions. For PNG, the listing says a conversion kit is sold separately.
  • The auto ignition runs on a battery, but the listing doesn't say which type. Neither source gives the glass thickness, where the Glen CT1045USTNAI states 8 mm.
  • The listing labels the 70 cm as depth and 52 cm as width; Elica's page gives 700 x 520 mm as width by depth, which is how we read it. It is a heavy unit at 16 kg 300 g on the listing.

Skip it if you'd rather not depend on a battery to light the stove, or you need ISI marking stated in writing.

The reasoning

It has battery-operated auto ignition. The listing and Elica's own page agree on the burners, two at 2.5 kW (the listing calls them triple-ring) and two at 1.7 kW, and on cast-iron pan supports. Elica's page gives the body as 700 x 520 x 106 mm.

The warranty is what earned it the place. The listing gives 2 years comprehensive, 5 years on the glass and valves, and 10 years on the burners. Among the other auto-ignition stoves on the shortlist, Elica's auto-ignition 694 CT VETRO BLK covers its glass for longer, 7 years, but its burners and valves only within 2 years comprehensive. Glen's page for the CT1045USTNAI says 5 years on glass in its feature list and 5 years on glass, gas valves and burners in its warranty section. The Beyond Dorado's listing gives 5 years on burner and glass in one line and on glass only in another. Blowhot's Emerald lists 2 years on the glass, burners and valves.

Elica files it under built-in hobs, and the listing calls it built-in and freestanding, so it can sit on the slab or go into a cut-out (Elica's page gives the cutting size as 564 x 485 mm). The listing asks you to call Elica customer care after buying to book the installation.

If you want the gas cut off when a flame goes out

Beyond Appliances Dorado 4 Burner Hobtop

Beyond Appliances · Pick 3 of 4

A 76 cm auto-ignition hobtop with a flame failure device on every burner and digital timers, for kitchens where a flame blown out by a draught or a boil-over is a real worry.

Check price on Amazon.in

Price and stock change daily; Amazon.in shows today's.

Ignition
Auto, battery powered (2 x D type, 1.5 V)Beyond product page
Size
76 x 51 x 8 cmBeyond product page
Warranty
5 years glass (burners: listing conflicts), 2 years comprehensiveAmazon.in listing
Burners
2 x 2.5 kW, 2 x 1.5 kWBeyond product page
Safety
Flame failure device on all burnersAmazon.in listing
Timer
1 to 180 minutes, left and right burnersBeyond user manual

Worth knowing

  • Beyond's manual asks you to place it in a well-ventilated spot with at least 1 foot of vertical distance from the cylinder, keep the gas off while connecting the tube, and check the joint with soap solution (bubbles mean refit the tube). Hold the knob down so the flame failure device engages: 5-7 seconds for ignition and the device in one part of the manual, up to 5-10 seconds after ignition in another. It also warns against using a lot of water on the burners, which can interfere with the device, and against leaving it unattended.
  • The listing's warranty text doesn't agree with itself. One line gives 5 years on the burner and glass, another 5 years on the glass only, both with 2 years comprehensive. The page we read states no term, and the listing names no exclusions. Installation is charged, and while the listing calls PNG conversion chargeable, Beyond's page says the conversion service is free but each PNG nozzle is charged.
  • Weight is 16 kg on the listing and 16.9 kg on Beyond's page. Beyond's page gives the model number as BAHO-DO4BBL-GT-001, while the listing just says Dorado Hobtop. Neither mentions ISI marking, though Beyond's hobtop user manual shows IS 4246 with a BIS licence number (CM/L-6200238705). The manual covers Beyond's hobtops generally, so check for the mark on the unit.

Skip it if you want a plain stove with no battery or electronics, or 10 years on the burners, which the Elica RG FLEXI lists.

The reasoning

This is the one stove on the shortlist whose listing describes a flame failure device. The listing says it cuts the gas to a burner if the flame goes out from a gust of wind or a spill, on all four burners. Beyond's own FAQ says the device is mechanical and works without the battery; the auto ignition runs on 2 D-type 1.5 V cells, per Beyond's page.

It also has a digital timer. Beyond's manual describes timers for the left and right burners, each settable from 1 to 180 minutes and running independently. Neither the listing nor the manual says the timer turns the gas off when it runs out, so think of it as a reminder.

Beyond's page lists 8 kW across the burners, two at 2.5 kW and two at 1.5 kW, with cast-iron pan supports and 8 mm toughened glass. It can sit on the slab with no core cutting, per Beyond's FAQ, or be set into a granite counter through a 65.5 x 47.5 cm cut-out. If you set it into the counter, Beyond's manual asks for a non-flammable wall behind it and at least 700 mm clearance to any cupboard directly above. On warranty it trails the Elica RG FLEXI: 5 years on burner and glass (or glass only, in another line) and 2 years comprehensive on its listing, against 10 years on the Elica's burners.

If your counter is narrower

Elica Slimline 4 Burner Gas Stove (694 CT VETRO SLIM LINE SPF 2J)

Elica · Pick 4 of 4

A 69 cm manual glass-top stove whose size Elica's own page confirms, with 7 years on the glass and 5 on the burners, for counters where 75 cm won't fit.

Check price on Amazon.in

Price and stock change daily; Amazon.in shows today's.

Ignition
ManualAmazon.in listing
Size
690 x 550 x 106 mmElica product page
Warranty
7 years glass, 5 years burners, 2 years comprehensiveAmazon.in listing
Burners
2 jumbo, 1 medium, 1 smallElica product page
Weight
10 kgAmazon.in listing
Glass
Black toughened glass, thickness not statedAmazon.in listing

Worth knowing

  • Neither the listing nor Elica's page mentions ISI marking or PNG use. If either matters to you, ask Elica first (1800 233 0007 or customercare@elica.in, both from Elica's page). For comparison, the listing for Elica's auto-ignition 694 CT VETRO BLK says ISI certified and convertible to PNG at installation.
  • The listing doesn't say what the warranty excludes, and the Elica page we read gives no warranty term; its linked warranty manual is a scanned PDF we couldn't read, so the 7, 5 and 2 years come from the listing alone. Neither source gives the glass thickness or any installation or leak-check advice; see the hose tips under Before you buy.
  • Elica's page names the model 694 CT VETRO (SLIMLINE SPF), without the 2J in the listing's title, and calls the pan supports square euro-coated where the listing says square enamelled. The burner layout and size match, and the page lists auto ignition as optional for this model; the listing we chose is the manual one.

Skip it if you have room for the Sujata Premium, you want the stove to light itself, or you cook on piped gas and want the conversion confirmed in writing before you buy.

The reasoning

This is a plain manual-ignition cooktop with no auto ignition. The listing and Elica's own page give the same burner layout, two jumbo, one medium and one small, and the same size, 690 x 550 x 106 mm on Elica's page and 69 x 55 x 10.6 cm on the listing. Neither gives a burner output in kW, so "jumbo" can't be checked against the 2.5 kW burners the Beyond Dorado and Elica's RG FLEXI 470 list, and other listings label their bigger burners "large" or "big" (Elica CT VETRO 460, MILTON Premium, Glen Apex) with no kW figure either. The listing's details field gives 3000 Watts, with no explanation. We chose it for its size and its split warranty, not for proven burner output.

Its listing splits the warranty three ways: 7 years on the glass, 5 years on the burners and 2 years comprehensive, from the date of purchase. That is less than the Sujata Premium's 9 years on the complete product, but the Premium is 75 cm wide on its listing, and this is 69 cm.

Sujata's Standard is also listed at 69 cm wide, and its listing says what this one leaves out: ISI certified, 8 mm glass, PNG conversion (charged) and 9 years of warranty. We still chose the Elica for a narrow counter because its size is settled. Elica's page and the listing agree on it, while the Standard's size field reads 36 cm deep and 8 cm high, figures we couldn't check against any Sujata page. The Standard's listing also doesn't say what its 9 years cover, or give burner sizes. Elica's own auto-ignition 694 CT VETRO BLK is the same 69 cm wide and says ISI and PNG, but covers its burners only within 2 years comprehensive.

How the 4 picks compare

Sujata Premium Gas Stove 4…Best for most peopleElica 4 Burner Hob (RG…If you want it to light itselfBeyond Appliances Dorado 4…If you want the gas cut off when a flame goes outElica Slimline 4 Burner…If your counter is narrower
IgnitionNot stated on the listing Source: Amazon.in listingAuto, battery operated Source: Elica product pageAuto, battery powered (2 x D type, 1.5 V) Source: Beyond product pageManual Source: Amazon.in listing
Size75 x 55.5 x 12 cm (W x D x H) Source: Amazon.in listing700 x 520 x 106 mm Source: Elica product page76 x 51 x 8 cm Source: Beyond product page690 x 550 x 106 mm Source: Elica product page
Warranty9 years on the complete product, glass included; service visits charged after 2 years Source: Amazon.in listing10 years burners, 5 years glass and valves, 2 years comprehensive Source: Amazon.in listing5 years glass (burners: listing conflicts), 2 years comprehensive Source: Amazon.in listing7 years glass, 5 years burners, 2 years comprehensive Source: Amazon.in listing
Burners1 jumbo, 2 big, 1 small, forged brass Source: Amazon.in listing2 x 2.5 kW, 2 x 1.7 kW Source: Elica product page2 x 2.5 kW, 2 x 1.5 kW Source: Beyond product page2 jumbo, 1 medium, 1 small Source: Elica product page
Amazon.inCheck priceCheck priceCheck priceCheck price

from the brand's own page or manual from the Amazon.in listing both. Values are copied as the source states them.

How we got from 30 listings to 4 picks

  1. 30 listings read
  2. 27 shortlisted
  3. 4 picks
  1. Sujata Premium: pick #1
  2. Elica RG FLEXI 470 LOTUS IND HD BRASS: pick #2
  3. BEYOND BY MUKUNDA FOODS Dorado Hobtop: pick #3
  4. Elica 694 CT VETRO SLIM LINE SPF 2J: pick #4
  5. Lifelong LLGS27: shortlisted, not picked
  6. Elica CT VETRO 460 BLK: shortlisted, not picked
  7. MILTON Premium: shortlisted, not picked
  8. Butterfly L3892C00000: shortlisted, not picked
  9. Prestige Magic Plus GTMP-04: shortlisted, not picked
  10. Everflame Prime: shortlisted, not picked
  11. Elica 694 CT VETRO BLK AI: shortlisted, not picked
  12. Glen 4 Burner Manual Ignition: shortlisted, not picked
  13. Glen BH1074USBL75: shortlisted, not picked
  14. SUNFLAME PRIDE 4 BURNER: shortlisted, not picked
  15. Glen PNG Manual Ignition: shortlisted, not picked
  16. Prestige 40591: shortlisted, not picked
  17. SUNFLAME 4 Burner GT Diamond BK: shortlisted, not picked
  18. Glen GL 1044 GT XL: shortlisted, not picked
  19. Everflame Pearl: shortlisted, not picked
  20. GREENCHEF NEXA1: shortlisted, not picked
  21. Haute Kitchen Evoque Series Black: shortlisted, not picked
  22. MILTON Premium-4BBlue: shortlisted, not picked
  23. Everflame Aurum: shortlisted, not picked
  24. Everflame Marvel: shortlisted, not picked
  25. Glen CT1045USTNAI: shortlisted, not picked
  26. BLOWHOT Emerald_4_Auto_N: shortlisted, not picked
  27. Sujata Standard: shortlisted, not picked
  28. Prestige 40219: Too little buyer history on Amazon.in
  29. Elica RG FLEXI HCT 470 DX LOTUS BK: Too little buyer history on Amazon.in
  30. Lifelong LLGS27GSS: Too little buyer history on Amazon.in
  • The pick (1)
  • Alternatives (3)
  • Shortlisted, not picked (23)
  • Cut (3)

Cut 3: 3 × too little buyer history on Amazon.in

  • Cut 3 listings with too little buyer history on Amazon.in to include.
  • Compared the 27 that were left on burner sizes, ignition, width, LPG or PNG use, and the warranty on the glass, the burners and the rest of the stove, including what each listing leaves out.
  • Read the brand's own page or manual for the Elica Slimline and RG FLEXI, the Beyond Dorado, Glen's CT1045USTNAI, Haute's Evoque and Prestige's Vectra, and say below where a page and its listing disagree.
  • Found no brand page for the Sujata stoves: the product list on Sujata Appliances' site has no gas stoves, and the listings name Mittal Electronics as the maker. What we say about them comes from their Amazon.in listings.
See all 30 listings we read
#BrandModelOutcomeWhy
1SujataPremiumPick #1Best for most people
2ElicaRG FLEXI 470 LOTUS IND HD BRASSPick #2If you want it to light itself
3BEYOND BY MUKUNDA FOODSDorado HobtopPick #3If you want the gas cut off when a flame goes out
4Elica694 CT VETRO SLIM LINE SPF 2JPick #4If your counter is narrower
5LifelongLLGS27ShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
6ElicaCT VETRO 460 BLKShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
7MILTONPremiumShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
8ButterflyL3892C00000ShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
9PrestigeMagic Plus GTMP-04ShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
10EverflamePrimeShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
11Elica694 CT VETRO BLK AIShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
12Glen4 Burner Manual IgnitionShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
13GlenBH1074USBL75ShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
14SUNFLAMEPRIDE 4 BURNERShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
15GlenPNG Manual IgnitionShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
16Prestige40591ShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
17SUNFLAME4 Burner GT Diamond BKShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
18GlenGL 1044 GT XLShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
19EverflamePearlShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
20GREENCHEFNEXA1ShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
21Haute KitchenEvoque Series BlackShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
22MILTONPremium-4BBlueShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
23EverflameAurumShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
24EverflameMarvelShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
25GlenCT1045USTNAIShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
26BLOWHOTEmerald_4_Auto_NShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
27SujataStandardShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
28Prestige40219CutToo little buyer history on Amazon.in
29ElicaRG FLEXI HCT 470 DX LOTUS BKCutToo little buyer history on Amazon.in
30LifelongLLGS27GSSCutToo little buyer history on Amazon.in

What we ruled out

  • Sujata Standard Gas Stove 4 Burners Glass TopA close call for the narrow-counter slot. Its listing gives 69 cm wide, ISI certified, 8 mm glass, SABAF valves, PNG conversion for a charge and 9 years of warranty. But unlike the Premium's, it doesn't say what the 9 years cover, it gives no burner sizes, and its size field reads 36 cm deep and 8 cm high, which we couldn't check against any Sujata page.
  • Haute Kitchen Evoque Series 3.0 Black 4 Burner Manual StoveIts listing gives 10 years on the glass and the brass burner body and spells out its exclusions (ignition pins, rubber parts, impact, thermal shock), and its title gives 8 mm glass and ISI. Haute's page adds 2 years comprehensive on the product. The Sujata Premium's listing covers the complete product for 9 years, though with service visits charged after 2, and the Haute is wider, 800 mm on Haute's page against 75 cm. In the Haute's favour, its terms can be read on a brand page, and the Sujata's can't.
  • Prestige Vectra 4 Burner Glasstop (40591)Prestige's page gives 10 years on the glass and 2 years on the product, but on the listing that term appears only in the title (repeated as the first bullet), with no warranty field. It is 87 x 58 x 15.5 cm on Prestige's page and 17 kg 200 g on the listing, and neither source gives burner outputs or says how many burners are jumbo.
  • Elica 694 CT VETRO BLK auto-ignition stoveA close call for the auto-ignition slot. Its listing says ISI certified and convertible to PNG at installation, and gives 7 years on the glass plus 2 years comprehensive on the burners, valves, spark plug, mixing tubes and microswitch (glass discolouration excluded). The RG FLEXI 470 lists 10 years on burners and 5 on valves. Elica's nearest page, the 694 CT DT VETRO, gives 690 x 570 x 134 mm against the listing's 69 x 55 x 13 cm, so we couldn't confirm which model it is.
  • Glen CT1045USTNAI and BH1074USBL75 ultra slim auto-ignition stovesTwo listings with the same stated specs: 8 mm glass, one high-flame, one big and two small burners, 75 cm wide and 13 kg 800 g. Both listings give 2 years standard and 5 years on the glass. Glen's page for the CT1045USTNAI extends the 5 years to gas valves and burners in its warranty section (its feature list says glass only), which still leaves the Elica RG FLEXI ahead on burners at 10 years. We have no brand page for the BH1074USBL75.
  • BLOWHOT Emerald 4 Burners Auto IgnitionAn auto-ignition stove that says ISI certified on its title, but its warranty field gives 2 years on the glass, burners and valves and 2 years general, against 10 years on the Elica RG FLEXI's burners. Its listing gives no burner sizes, where the RG FLEXI lists two at 2.5 kW and two at 1.7 kW.

Before you buy

  1. LPG or PNG first

    Check which gas a stove is set up for. Sujata, Glen, Prestige and Haute say PNG conversion is possible but charged, and Sujata adds travel charges outside the city limits of its service centre. Beyond says the service is free but its PNG nozzles are charged. Lifelong's LLGS27 is LPG only with no conversion offered, and Glen's 1043GTBBBLPN is PNG only. The Elica Slimline's listing doesn't mention PNG at all, so ask Elica before you order if you're on piped gas.

  2. Measure the space

    The Sujata Premium is 75 cm wide on its listing. Going by the brands' pages, the Elica Slimline is 690 mm wide, the RG FLEXI 700 mm, the Beyond Dorado 76 cm, the Haute 800 mm, and the Prestige Vectra is 87 cm long on Prestige's page. Beyond's manual also asks for at least 1 foot of vertical distance between its hob and the gas cylinder.

  3. Look after the hose

    Prestige's care notes say to check the gas tube regularly for wear, cracks and leaks, replace it every two years or at once if it is damaged or leaking, keep it away from heat, and never check for a leak with a flame. Beyond's manual says to test the joint with soap solution and refit the tube if bubbles appear. Let a glass top cool before wiping it with water or a wet cloth: MILTON's listing says to wait, and Haute's excludes thermal-shock damage such as cold water poured on hot glass from its warranty.

  4. Read the warranty in parts, and check for ISI in writing

    Three of our four picks split the warranty, with the glass or the burners covered longer than the rest of the stove. The Sujata Premium covers the complete product for 9 years, but charges for service visits after the first 2. Most of Glen's listings add "Terms & Conditions applied". For ISI marking, go by the listing: the Sujata Premium and Standard, Haute, Elica auto-ignition 694 CT VETRO BLK, Glen Apex and Everflame listings, among others, say ISI certified, while the Elica Slimline, Elica RG FLEXI and Beyond Dorado listings don't mention it (Beyond's hobtop manual does show IS 4246).

More in Kitchen