The best electric shaver on Amazon.in
The short answer
Philips Shaver 3000 Series Wet & Dry Electric Shaver (S3144/03)
A wet-and-dry shaver with a pop-up trimmer that Philips's own spec sheet lists as IPX7, with 60 minutes per charge, for most people who want one tool for the face and sideburns.
- Wet or dry, IPX7 on Philips's spec
- Pop-up trimmer for sideburns
- 60 min per 1-hour charge (Philips)
The 2 alternatives, for other needs
- If you shave dry and want a cord to fall back onWahl Launch Professional Shaver (3027015)
A foil shaver that runs on the cord or its battery and lists 120 minutes per charge, for people who shave dry and don't need a trimmer.
Check price on Amazon.in - If you want the longest warrantyPhilips i9000 Wet & Dry Electric Shaver (X9000/10)
Philips's i9000, which Philips covers for 5 years once you register it within 90 days, with a pop-up trimmer, a charging stand and a phone app, for people who want the longest cover on offer.
Check price on Amazon.in
Search Amazon.in for an electric shaver and much of what comes back is a beard trimmer or a grooming kit. Even the real shavers often disagree with themselves: the Philips S3144/03's title says 50 minutes of runtime and its battery field says 40, while Philips's own spec sheet says 60. So wherever we could, we checked the brand's page.
We read 30 Amazon.in listings, shortlisted 13 and compared them on the shaving head, runtime and charge time, wet use, whether there's a trimmer, and the warranty and its conditions. For seven of the 13 (the four Philips shavers, AGARO's head shaver, the Airluxe ShaveMate and the VGR V-353) we also read the brand's own product page, along with the warranty pages of Philips, Airluxe and VGR. Wahl India's home page names neither Wahl shaver and Wahl's other sites returned errors, so the Wahl details come from the listings. Three shavers, from VGR, Vega and Bombay Shaving Company, were cut before the comparison because they have too little buyer history on Amazon.in. Nobody here has shaved with any of these, so this is a reading of specifications.
Our pick for most people is the Philips Shaver 3000 Series S3144/03. Philips lists it as IPX7 for wet or dry shaving, with a pop-up trimmer and 60 minutes per charge. If you shave dry and want a cord to fall back on, the Wahl Launch lists 120 minutes and is listed for cord or cordless use. If the length of cover matters most, the Philips i9000 (X9000/10) carries 5 years once you register it within 90 days.
Philips Shaver 3000 Series Wet & Dry Electric Shaver (S3144/03)
A wet-and-dry shaver with a pop-up trimmer that Philips's own spec sheet lists as IPX7, with 60 minutes per charge, for most people who want one tool for the face and sideburns.
Price and stock change daily; Amazon.in shows today's.
- Head
- 5D Pivot & Flex Heads, 27 self-sharpening bladesPhilips spec sheet
- Runtime
- 60 min / 20 shaves; 1 hour full charge, 5-minute quick chargePhilips spec sheet
- Power
- Lithium-ion; cordless use onlyPhilips spec sheet
- Wet use
- Shave wet or dry; Waterproof IPX7, ShowerproofPhilips spec sheet
- Trimmer
- Pop-up trimmer includedPhilips spec sheet
- Warranty
- 2 years; proof of purchase generally requiredPhilips spec sheet and warranty page
Why it's on the list
- Wet or dry, IPX7 on Philips's spec
- Pop-up trimmer for sideburns
- 60 min per 1-hour charge (Philips)
Worth knowing
- The listing disagrees with itself on runtime: 50 minutes in the title and 40 in the battery fields. Philips's spec sheet gives 60 minutes, about 20 shaves, so go by that.
- The listing's special-feature field says "Dry Shave" and its power-source field says "corded cordless", but its bullets describe wet and dry shaving and Philips's spec says cordless use only. Plan to charge it rather than shave with it plugged in.
- It charges over USB-A, and Philips's page points you to its support site if you need an adapter. The listing's components field names only the shaver; Philips's spec adds a protective cap.
Skip it if you want to shave with it plugged in, or need more than an hour's use between charges, since Philips lists it for cordless use only and 60 minutes.
The reasoning
This is Philips's Shaver 3000 Series. The listing's head-type field says rotary, and Philips describes 5D Pivot & Flex Heads carrying 27 self-sharpening blades, plus a pop-up trimmer for the moustache and sideburns. Philips's spec sheet lists it as waterproof to IPX7 and showerproof, for shaving wet or dry, and the head flips open at a button so you can rinse it. Philips also says it is designed for shaving the head as well as the face.
What decided it is that it puts water use and a trimmer together with the most runtime Philips gives any of its four shavers here. Philips lists 60 minutes, about 20 shaves, from a lithium-ion battery that fully charges in an hour, and says a 5-minute quick charge gives enough for one shave. The X3063/03 has the same trimmer and IPX7 figure, but Philips gives it 40 minutes from a NiMH battery. The Wahl Launch below lists twice the runtime and a cord option, but its listing describes a dry shaver and mentions no trimmer. The Philips i9000 has a trimmer and a longer warranty, but Philips gives it 50 minutes.
The warranty is 2 years on both the listing and Philips's spec. Philips's shaver warranty FAQ, which speaks of Philips shavers in general, says a claim generally needs proof of purchase, that cover depends on using and maintaining the shaver as the manual says, and that repairs or replacements are requested through Philips Support. It doesn't name a shop you must buy from or say whether the blades are covered, and Philips's spec says to replace the head every 2 years with an SH30. The listing itself is the weak part, as the notes below explain.
Wahl Launch Professional Shaver (3027015)
A foil shaver that runs on the cord or its battery and lists 120 minutes per charge, for people who shave dry and don't need a trimmer.
Price and stock change daily; Amazon.in shows today's.
- Head
- Foil, triple floating bladesAmazon.in listing
- Runtime
- 120 min run time / 90 min chargeAmazon.in listing
- Power
- Cord or cordless, lithium-ion batteryAmazon.in listing
- Wet use
- Not stated; listed as "Dry Shave"Amazon.in listing
- Trimmer
- Not mentioned on the listingAmazon.in listing
- Warranty
- 2 Years; no conditions givenAmazon.in listing
Why it's on the list
- Listed for cord or cordless use
- 120 min runtime, 90 min charge
- 2-year warranty on the listing
Worth knowing
- The title ends in 3027015 but the model-number field reads 02910-024. Both appear on the same listing, so check you're on the Launch Professional Shaver page rather than going by one number alone.
- The warranty field gives only "2 Years". It doesn't say what is covered, whether the foil and blades count, or where you must buy. Wahl India's home page doesn't name this shaver, and Wahl's global, South African and European sites refused our requests, so we couldn't check it.
- The listing never mentions a trimmer; it names the moustache only among its recommended uses.
- The title and bullets say cord or cordless, but the listing's power-source field says "Battery Powered", and there's no Wahl page to confirm cord use, so check the listing before relying on it.
Skip it if you want to shave wet or tidy sideburns with the same tool, since the listing describes a dry shaver and mentions no trimmer.
The reasoning
The Launch is a foil shaver with three floating blades and a 6500 RPM motor, and its listing gives a 0.04 mm cutting length, a smart LED, a safety lock and a head that detaches. The listing's title and bullets say it runs cord or cordless, so a flat battery shouldn't end a shave halfway. Philips's spec sheet lists the S3144/03 for cordless use only.
It also lists the most use per charge of our three picks: 120 minutes from a lithium-ion battery after a 90-minute charge, against 60 minutes after an hour for the S3144/03 on Philips's spec. Its listing gives 140 g against 251 g on the S3144/03's listing, though listing weights may include packaging. The Airluxe ShaveMate also claims a cord option, but lists 80 minutes and a 1-year warranty.
The trade-off is water and edging. The listing calls it a dry shaver, gives no IPX figure and never mentions a trimmer. The warranty field reads "2 Years" with nothing on what's covered or where you must buy, and we have no Wahl product page to check it against. The box, per the listing, holds a cleaning brush, a protective cap and a USB charging cable.
Philips i9000 Wet & Dry Electric Shaver (X9000/10)
Philips's i9000, which Philips covers for 5 years once you register it within 90 days, with a pop-up trimmer, a charging stand and a phone app, for people who want the longest cover on offer.
Price and stock change daily; Amazon.in shows today's.
- Head
- Triple Action Lift & Cut System, Dual SteelPrecision bladesPhilips spec sheet
- Runtime
- 50 minutes; 1 hour full charge, 5 min quick chargePhilips spec sheet
- Power
- Li-ion battery, charging standPhilips spec sheet
- Wet use
- Wet and dry use; 100% waterproof, no IPX figure givenPhilips product page
- Trimmer
- Integrated pop-up trimmerPhilips spec sheet
- Warranty
- 5 years upon registration on Philips.com within 90 days of purchasePhilips product page
Worth knowing
- The listing contradicts itself and Philips. Its title ends in X9000/11 while every model field says X9000/10 (Philips India's address for X9000/11 returned an error), the power-source field says corded electric, the weight field reads 0.56 g, and the special-feature field says dry shave although the bullets describe wet or dry shaving. Philips's own X9000/10 page is the one to go by.
- The quick charge differs too: the listing's title says 3 minutes, while Philips's page says 5 minutes gives enough power for one full shave.
- The listing's components field names only a cleaning brush. The charging stand and travel case come from Philips's page, so check the box contents on the listing before you order.
Skip it if you won't register it on Philips.com within 90 days of buying, since Philips ties the 5 years to that, or you want the longest runtime of the Philips shavers, which is the S3144/03's.
The reasoning
The i9000 is the one to look at if the length of cover matters most. Philips's page gives it a 5-year warranty, with a footnote that this applies upon registration on Philips.com within 90 days of purchase, and says its battery and motor are designed to last up to 5 years. Every other shaver on the shortlist states 2 years or less, or no term at all.
On paper it also matches the S3144/03 on the basics. Philips lists an integrated pop-up trimmer, wet and dry use, and a head that opens at one touch to rinse. Philips's page calls it 100% waterproof, though the parts we read give no IPX figure. It adds a charging stand, a travel case, and a Bluetooth app, with software security updates listed until May 2031. Philips says to replace the head every 2 years with an SH91.
It lost the top spot on runtime: Philips gives it 50 minutes against the S3144/03's 60, both after a 1-hour full charge, and both with a 5-minute quick charge. Philips's shaver warranty FAQ, which speaks of Philips shavers in general, describes registering within 90 days as a route to extended cover, so register it promptly; the same conditions apply as for the S3144/03, with proof of purchase generally needed and claims made through Philips Support.
How the 3 picks compare
| Philips S3144/03Best for most people | Wahl 3027015If you shave dry and want a cord to fall back on | Philips X9000/10If you want the longest warranty | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Head | 5D Pivot & Flex Heads, 27 self-sharpening blades Source: Philips spec sheet | Foil, triple floating blades Source: Amazon.in listing | Triple Action Lift & Cut System, Dual SteelPrecision blades Source: Philips spec sheet |
| Runtime | 60 min / 20 shaves; 1 hour full charge, 5-minute quick charge Source: Philips spec sheet | 120 min run time / 90 min charge Source: Amazon.in listing | 50 minutes; 1 hour full charge, 5 min quick charge Source: Philips spec sheet |
| Power | Lithium-ion; cordless use only Source: Philips spec sheet | Cord or cordless, lithium-ion battery Source: Amazon.in listing | Li-ion battery, charging stand Source: Philips spec sheet |
| Wet use | Shave wet or dry; Waterproof IPX7, Showerproof Source: Philips spec sheet | Not stated; listed as "Dry Shave" Source: Amazon.in listing | Wet and dry use; 100% waterproof, no IPX figure given Source: Philips product page |
| Trimmer | Pop-up trimmer included Source: Philips spec sheet | Not mentioned on the listing Source: Amazon.in listing | Integrated pop-up trimmer Source: Philips spec sheet |
| Warranty | 2 years; proof of purchase generally required Source: Philips spec sheet and warranty page | 2 Years; no conditions given Source: Amazon.in listing | 5 years upon registration on Philips.com within 90 days of purchase Source: Philips product page |
| Amazon.in | Check price | Check price | Check price |
from the brand's own page or manual from the Amazon.in listing both. Values are copied as the source states them.
How we got from 30 listings to 3 picks
- 30 listings read
- 13 shortlisted
- 3 picks
- Philips S3144/03: pick #1
- Wahl 02910-024: pick #2
- Philips X9000/10: pick #3
- Philips S1151/03: shortlisted, not picked
- Philips X3063/03: shortlisted, not picked
- VGR V-353: shortlisted, not picked
- Hatteker HT-911: shortlisted, not picked
- BEARDO BDTO023: shortlisted, not picked
- kensen BVBNV454G: shortlisted, not picked
- Airluxe TW-8969: shortlisted, not picked
- AGARO 34320: shortlisted, not picked
- NOYMI EETT-179: shortlisted, not picked
- Wahl 3025441IN: shortlisted, not picked
- Philips QP2724/10: Not an electric shaver, by its own title
- Philips MG3927/30: Not an electric shaver, by its own title
- VGR V-071: Not an electric shaver, by its own title
- Philips BG5475/15: Not an electric shaver, by its own title
- FANHAO : No model number on the listing
- Philips BT1244/18: Not an electric shaver, by its own title
- VEGA VHTH-44: Not an electric shaver, by its own title
- Philips MG7922/15: Not an electric shaver, by its own title
- BEARDO BDTO029: Not an electric shaver, by its own title
- Philips MG7931/30: Not an electric shaver, by its own title
- FANHAO : No model number on the listing
- VEGA PROFESSIONAL VPVFS-02: Too little buyer history on Amazon.in
- VGR V-362: Too little buyer history on Amazon.in
- BOMBAE Tr-001: Too little buyer history on Amazon.in
- Xiaomi grooming kit: Not an electric shaver, by its own title
- Generic : No brand named
- VEGA VHTH-38: Not an electric shaver, by its own title
- The pick (1)
- Alternatives (2)
- Shortlisted, not picked (10)
- Cut (17)
Cut 17: 11 × not an electric shaver, by its own title · 3 × too little buyer history on Amazon.in · 2 × no model number on the listing · 1 × no brand named
- Cut 11 listings whose titles don't call them a shaver or a shaving machine: beard trimmers, grooming kits, a body trimmer, and a Philips OneBlade that its own title calls a trimmer.
- Cut 2 listings with no model number or model name, either in a model field or in the title, and 1 whose brand field reads "Generic" and which gives no model number either, because there's no way to be sure which shaver would arrive. Both of the first 2 are small foil shavers.
- Cut 3 listings with too little buyer history on Amazon.in to include.
- Compared the 13 that were left on the shaving head, runtime and charge time, wet use and any IPX figure, whether a trimmer is included, the warranty term and its conditions, and what each listing leaves out.
- Read the brand's own product page for seven of the shortlisted shavers: the four from Philips and one each from AGARO, Airluxe and VGR, plus the warranty pages of Philips, Airluxe and VGR. Wahl India's home page names neither Wahl shaver, and Wahl's global, South African and European sites refused our requests, so both Wahl shavers are judged on their listings.
Brand pages we read (11)
- Philips Shaver 3000 Series S3144/03 product page
- Philips i9000 X9000/10 product page
- Philips Shaver 3000X Series X3063/03 product page
- Philips Shaver 1000 Series S1151/03 product page
- Philips shaver warranty and service page
- AGARO HS7979 head shaver product page
- Airluxe ShaveMate product page
- Airluxe warranty policy
- VGR V-353 product page
- VGR warranty policy
- Wahl India website
See all 30 listings we read
| # | Brand | Model | Outcome | Why |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Philips | S3144/03 | Pick #1 | Best for most people |
| 2 | Wahl | 02910-024 | Pick #2 | If you shave dry and want a cord to fall back on |
| 3 | Philips | X9000/10 | Pick #3 | If you want the longest warranty |
| 4 | Philips | S1151/03 | Shortlisted | Compared with the shortlist; not picked |
| 5 | Philips | X3063/03 | Shortlisted | Compared with the shortlist; not picked |
| 6 | VGR | V-353 | Shortlisted | Compared with the shortlist; not picked |
| 7 | Hatteker | HT-911 | Shortlisted | Compared with the shortlist; not picked |
| 8 | BEARDO | BDTO023 | Shortlisted | Compared with the shortlist; not picked |
| 9 | kensen | BVBNV454G | Shortlisted | Compared with the shortlist; not picked |
| 10 | Airluxe | TW-8969 | Shortlisted | Compared with the shortlist; not picked |
| 11 | AGARO | 34320 | Shortlisted | Compared with the shortlist; not picked |
| 12 | NOYMI | EETT-179 | Shortlisted | Compared with the shortlist; not picked |
| 13 | Wahl | 3025441IN | Shortlisted | Compared with the shortlist; not picked |
| 14 | Philips | QP2724/10 | Cut | Not an electric shaver, by its own title |
| 15 | Philips | MG3927/30 | Cut | Not an electric shaver, by its own title |
| 16 | VGR | V-071 | Cut | Not an electric shaver, by its own title |
| 17 | Philips | BG5475/15 | Cut | Not an electric shaver, by its own title |
| 18 | FANHAO | — | Cut | No model number on the listing |
| 19 | Philips | BT1244/18 | Cut | Not an electric shaver, by its own title |
| 20 | VEGA | VHTH-44 | Cut | Not an electric shaver, by its own title |
| 21 | Philips | MG7922/15 | Cut | Not an electric shaver, by its own title |
| 22 | BEARDO | BDTO029 | Cut | Not an electric shaver, by its own title |
| 23 | Philips | MG7931/30 | Cut | Not an electric shaver, by its own title |
| 24 | FANHAO | — | Cut | No model number on the listing |
| 25 | VEGA PROFESSIONAL | VPVFS-02 | Cut | Too little buyer history on Amazon.in |
| 26 | VGR | V-362 | Cut | Too little buyer history on Amazon.in |
| 27 | BOMBAE | Tr-001 | Cut | Too little buyer history on Amazon.in |
| 28 | Xiaomi | grooming kit | Cut | Not an electric shaver, by its own title |
| 29 | Generic | — | Cut | No brand named |
| 30 | VEGA | VHTH-38 | Cut | Not an electric shaver, by its own title |
What we ruled out
- Philips Shaver 3000X Series (X3063/03)The closest rival to our pick. Philips's spec gives it the same pop-up trimmer, IPX7 figure, 2-year warranty, 1-hour charge and 5-minute quick charge. But Philips puts it at 40 minutes, about 13 shaves, from a NiMH battery, against 60 minutes from the S3144/03's lithium-ion, and lists 3D Floating Heads rather than 5D Pivot & Flex Heads.
- Philips Shaver 1000 Series (S1151/03)Wet and dry, with an IPX7 figure and a 2-year warranty, but neither its listing nor Philips's spec mentions a trimmer, and Philips gives it 40 minutes from a NiMH battery against the S3144/03's 60 from lithium-ion.
- Airluxe ShaveMate (TW-8969)It lists 80 minutes of use and a cord option, and Airluxe's page gives an IPX6 body for wet shaving. But neither the listing nor Airluxe's description of the shaver mentions a trimmer, and the warranty is 1 year against the S3144/03's 2. Airluxe's policy also asks for the shaver to be returned for a claim and for the purchase to come from its authorised dealers or retailers.
- VGR V-353It has a pop-up trimmer and a 2-year term, but VGR's page contradicts itself, giving 60 minutes from a Ni-MH battery after an 8-hour charge in one place and 100 minutes after a 1.5-hour charge from a lithium battery in another, and it says the main body must not go under water. The S3144/03 also has a trimmer, gives one consistent figure (60 minutes after an hour) and is listed as IPX7. VGR's policy page ties its 2 years to purchases through VGR's own website, though the Amazon.in listing's warranty field also names authorised marketplaces, so check with VGR before relying on it.
- AGARO HS7979 head shaver (34320)Built for the scalp: its listing calls it a head shaver for bald men with 6 flexible heads and gives head and scalp as its uses. It lists 150 minutes after a 2.5-hour charge, more than any other shortlisted listing that gives its runtime in minutes (the kensen mini shaver's listing claims "more than 6h" without a minute figure), with an IPX7 body and a 2-year term, and AGARO's own page says the same. If you mainly shave your head it is worth a look, though Philips says the S3144/03 is designed for both face and head.
- Noymi 4-in-1 grooming kit (EETT-179)A kit with clipper, nose-trimmer and shaver heads rather than a dedicated shaver. It lists 99 minutes and IPX6 water resistance, but never says whether the shaver head is foil or rotary. Its warranty is 12 months, with spare parts covered for six months, and the product must be sent to a Noymi authorised service centre.
Before you buy
Foil or rotary
Foil shavers like the Wahl Launch and VGR V-353 cut under a thin metal foil. The Philips S3144/03's head-type field says rotary, as do the Airluxe ShaveMate's bullets and box contents. Don't rely on the head-type field alone: the Airluxe's reads "Magnetic Head With 3D Flexing", the Beardo I Blade, which its own item-type field calls a trimmer, reads "Foil", and the Wahl Launch's "Rotary motor" bullet describes its motor, not its foil head.
Take runtime from the brand
Three of the four Philips listings give two runtimes each, one in the title and one in the battery fields: 50 and 40 minutes for the S3144/03, 45 and 40 for the X3063/03, 40 and 30 for the S1151/03. Philips's own spec sheets give 60, 40 and 40. Where a brand publishes a spec, it is the figure to plan around.
Check who honours the warranty
VGR's policy page ties its 2 years to its own website, while its Amazon.in listing also names authorised marketplaces. Airluxe ties its term to its authorised dealers or retailers, and Hatteker its 1 year to one named seller. Philips asks for proof of purchase, and ties the i9000's 5 years to registering within 90 days. The Wahl Launch listing gives a term but no conditions, and the Wahl Travel and kensen listings state no term.
Match the model number
The Wahl Launch listing shows 3027015 in the title and 02910-024 in the model field, and the Philips i9000 listing shows X9000/11 in the title and X9000/10 in the model fields. Match the name and number on the listing to the brand's own page so the right shaver arrives.
More in Personal care
- Electric toothbrush
The best electric toothbrush on Amazon.in
The pickOral-B Vitality Pro (83931903)
+3 alternatives for other needs
- Foot massager
The best foot massager on Amazon.in
The pickAGARO Amaze Foot & Calf Massager (33320)
+2 alternatives for other needs
- Hair dryer
The best hair dryer on Amazon.in
The pickHavells HD3151 Hair Dryer
+2 alternatives for other needs
- Hair straightener
The best hair straightener on Amazon.in
The pickRemington Ceramic Straight 230 (S3500)
+2 alternatives for other needs
- Massage gun
The best massage gun on Amazon.in
The pickBeurer MG 99 Compact massage gun
+2 alternatives for other needs
- Neck massager
The best neck massager on Amazon.in
The pickDr Physio Shiatsu Neck, Back and Shoulder Massager (1047)
+2 alternatives for other needs
- Beard trimmer for men
The best beard trimmer for men on Amazon.in
The pickXiaomi Beard Trimmer 2C
+3 alternatives for other needs