EkPick

The best 4-slice toaster on Amazon.in

listings read
30
shortlisted
11
picks
3
brand pages read
6

The short answer

Best for most people

Russell Hobbs 18790 4-slice toaster

A stainless steel 4-slice toaster with reheat, defrost and cancel, a separate browning control for each pair of slots and a 2-year manufacturer warranty, for a household that toasts at different shades.

  • Separate browning control for each pair
  • Reheat, defrost and cancel functions
  • 2-year manufacturer warranty on listing

The 2 alternatives, for other needs

  1. If you want a smaller, lighter toasteriBELL CrustoF40 4-slice toaster

    A plastic-bodied 4-slice toaster with defrost, reheat and cancel buttons, for a kitchen where a smaller footprint matters more than a separate control for each pair of slots.

    Check price on Amazon.in
  2. If you also warm buns and rollsWestinghouse WETR4 4-slice retro toaster

    A 4-slice toaster with a bun attachment and separate levers so you can toast 2 or 4 slices, for a household that also warms buns and rolls.

    Check price on Amazon.in

If several people want toast at once, a 2-slice toaster means waiting for a second round. Most of the 4-slice listings we read agree on the basics, four slots and a set of browning levels. They split on whether you can rewarm a cold slice or defrost frozen bread, whether each pair of slots can run on its own setting, and how the warranty is worded.

We read 30 Amazon.in listings and shortlisted 11, two of them the same Morphy Richards AT 402 in black and in white. We have no Indian Russell Hobbs page for the 18790, so we read Russell Hobbs UK's product page and user manual for the same model number; for the iBELL CrustoF40 we read iBELL's own product page and its warranty registration and service request forms, and for the Morphy Richards AT 402, Bajaj Electricals' page for the black model. We have no brand page for the other models, including the Westinghouse WETR4. Nobody here has used these toasters. This is a reading of what the listings and brand pages say, and we note where they disagree.

We set aside the one listing that is unclear on how many slices it takes, then ranked on which of reheat, defrost and cancel a listing names, then on whether each pair of slots has its own browning control, then on whether a brand page confirms the listing, and last on how the warranty is earned. Our pick is the Russell Hobbs 18790: it names all three functions, gives each pair of slots its own browning control and lists a 2-year manufacturer warranty. The iBELL CrustoF40 comes second, with a browning control dial and no mention of one for each pair of slots, and a smaller, lighter body on paper. The Westinghouse WETR4 comes third, because nothing beyond its listing backs it up, but it is the only one of the three picks with a bun attachment.

Best for most people

Russell Hobbs 18790 4-slice toaster

Russell Hobbs · Pick 1 of 3

A stainless steel 4-slice toaster with reheat, defrost and cancel, a separate browning control for each pair of slots and a 2-year manufacturer warranty, for a household that toasts at different shades.

Check price on Amazon.in

Price and stock change daily; Amazon.in shows today's.

Slots
4Amazon.in listing and Russell Hobbs UK product page (18790)
Wattage
1500 Watts in the details table; 1250 to 1500 Watt in the bulletsAmazon.in listing
Browning settings
2 sets of controls, each with 7 settingsRussell Hobbs UK product page (18790)
Functions
Reheat, defrost (frozen on the UK page), cancelAmazon.in listing and Russell Hobbs UK product page (18790)
Warranty
  • Term: 2 Years Manufacturer Warranty (listing).
  • Extra years: none mentioned on the listing; the UK manual offers 1 extra year for registering within 28 days on a UK website.
  • Covers: not stated for India; the UK manual covers defects affecting product functionality, repaired or replaced at Russell Hobbs' option, if the toaster is used and maintained as instructed.
  • Main exclusions: not stated for India; the UK manual limits spare parts such as crumb trays to a 1-year warranty.
  • Service: not stated for India; the UK manual says to contact the retailer first within 6 months of purchase, and, if Customer Service advises a return, says to send the toaster to Customer Service in the UK.
  • Documents: not stated for India; the UK manual asks you to say where and when you bought it and to include proof of purchase (till receipt) with a guarantee return; the listing puts a user manual cum warranty card in the box.
Amazon.in listing; Russell Hobbs UK user manual (18790) for the UK guarantee terms
Size and weight
29.5D x 28.8W x 18H cm, 2 kg 570 g (Russell Hobbs UK's page gives a height of 225 mm)Amazon.in listing and Russell Hobbs UK product page (18790)

Why it's on the list

  • Separate browning control for each pair
  • Reheat, defrost and cancel functions
  • 2-year manufacturer warranty on listing

Worth knowing

  • The brand page and manual we read are Russell Hobbs UK's, not an Indian page. On height the UK page differs from the listing (225 mm against 18 cm). The manual's guarantee section is written for UK buyers, with claims sent to Spectrum Brands (UK) Ltd and the extra year tied to a UK website, and the listing doesn't say those terms apply in India, so the warranty block gives the listing's 2-year term and labels every other term as the UK manual's.
  • Russell Hobbs' UK manual says the surfaces get hot during use, though the Amazon.in listing calls the body cool touch. It also says: if bread jams, unplug the toaster, let it cool and remove the bread carefully; don't toast or reheat buttered, torn or misshapen bread; don't run it without the crumb tray fitted, or near or below combustible materials such as curtains, and don't cover it or put anything on top of it; don't connect it through a timer or remote-control system, stand it upright on a firm, level, heat-resistant surface, and keep the toaster and its cord out of reach of children under 8. It gives a maximum bread thickness of 26mm.
  • It is the heaviest of the three picks on paper: 2 kg 570 g, against 2 kg for the iBELL and 2 kg 190 g for the Westinghouse.

Skip it if you want a smaller, lighter toaster than this one (the iBELL CrustoF40 is listed at 2 kg and 35 x 14.5 cm), or you want to warm buns and rolls on the toaster.

The reasoning

On paper the 18790 covers each function we looked for. Its listing names reheat, cancel and defrost, 7 heat settings, extra-wide slots, bread centring, a high-rise carriage handle and a removable crumb tray, and its details table gives 1500 Watts and 2 Years Manufacturer Warranty.

What set it apart is the dual browning control. The listing says each pair of slots has its own control, so two people can toast at different settings at once, or you can run one side as a 2-slice toaster. Russell Hobbs UK's page describes the same thing: two carriages that work independently, each with its own control of 7 settings, plus frozen, cancel and reheat buttons. iBELL's page names a browning control dial for the CrustoF40 and, like its listing, mentions no separate control for each pair of slots, and the Westinghouse listing describes separate levers but not separate browning settings.

The brand source needs a caveat. The listing names Gryphon Appliances as the importer, and we have no Indian Russell Hobbs page, so we read the UK page and UK manual for the same model number. The UK page agrees with the listing on four slots, and the page gives 7 settings and frozen, cancel and reheat buttons, and the manual describes 7 browning settings and frozen, reheat and stop. But the UK page gives a height of 225 mm against the listing's 18 cm, and neither the page nor the manual gives a wattage, so the 1500 Watts is the listing's figure. Its bullets put the power at 1250 to 1500 Watt.

If you want a smaller, lighter toaster

iBELL CrustoF40 4-slice toaster

iBELL · Pick 2 of 3

A plastic-bodied 4-slice toaster with defrost, reheat and cancel buttons, for a kitchen where a smaller footprint matters more than a separate control for each pair of slots.

Check price on Amazon.in

Price and stock change daily; Amazon.in shows today's.

Slots
4Amazon.in listing and iBELL CrustoF40 product page
Wattage
1400 WattsiBELL CrustoF40 product page
Browning settings
7 levels on a browning control dial (the listing's details table says 10 settings)iBELL CrustoF40 product page
Functions
Defrost, reheat, cancel, auto shut-offiBELL CrustoF40 product page
Warranty
  • Term: 1 Year standard warranty on the listing and iBELL's page; both titles say 2 Year Warranty.
  • Extra years: 1 more year if registered within 30 days of delivery (listing); iBELL's registration form asks for the order ID and invoice.
  • Covers: not stated.
  • Main exclusions: not stated.
  • Service: not stated.
  • Documents: iBELL's service request form asks for the order number, serial number, date of purchase and invoice.
Amazon.in listing, iBELL CrustoF40 product page and iBELL's warranty registration and service request forms
Size and weight
35D x 14.5W x 17H cm (listing; iBELL's page gives 35 x 14.5 x 17 cm), 2 kg (listing)Amazon.in listing and iBELL CrustoF40 product page

Why it's on the list

  • Listed at 35 x 14.5 x 17 cm and 2 kg
  • Defrost, reheat and cancel buttons
  • 1400 W, 7 browning levels on iBELL's page

Worth knowing

  • The full 2 years depends on registering within 30 days of delivery, and iBELL's page states only the 1-year standard term, though it links to Warranty Registration.
  • The listing's details table gives 10 settings, against the 7 browning levels in its bullets and on iBELL's page.
  • iBELL's page gives no usage or safety instructions. It lists a user manual in the package, so read that before first use.

Skip it if you want a full 2-year term without registering, a stainless steel body, or a separate browning setting for each pair of slots.

The reasoning

The CrustoF40 names the same three functions as the Russell Hobbs, as separate defrost, reheat and cancel buttons with an LED indicator. iBELL's own page repeats them, along with 1400 Watts, 7 browning levels, auto shut-off and 220 to 240 V.

Where it differs is size. iBELL's page gives 35 x 14.5 x 17 cm and the listing 35D x 14.5W x 17H cm, so it is about half as wide as the Russell Hobbs' 28.8 cm, and the listing gives 2 kg against the Russell Hobbs' 2 kg 570 g. Its 35 cm long side is longer than either side of the Russell Hobbs, though, so measure the counter space you have. Its body is plastic on both the listing and iBELL's page, where the Russell Hobbs and Westinghouse listings give stainless steel.

We put it behind the Russell Hobbs on two counts. iBELL's page names a browning control dial, and neither it nor the listing mentions a separate control for each pair of slots. And its second warranty year takes a step from you: registering within 30 days of delivery, as its warranty block sets out.

If you also warm buns and rolls

Westinghouse WETR4 4-slice retro toaster

Westinghouse · Pick 3 of 3

A 4-slice toaster with a bun attachment and separate levers so you can toast 2 or 4 slices, for a household that also warms buns and rolls.

Check price on Amazon.in

Price and stock change daily; Amazon.in shows today's.

Slots
4Amazon.in listing
Wattage
1750 watts in the title and bullets; 1750 KW in the details tableAmazon.in listing
Browning settings
6Amazon.in listing
Functions
Defrost, warm-up, stopAmazon.in listing
Warranty
  • Term: 2-Yr Warranty in the listing title; no warranty field in the details table.
  • Extra years: none mentioned.
  • Covers: not stated.
  • Main exclusions: not stated.
  • Service: not stated.
  • Documents: not stated.
Amazon.in listing
Size and weight
31.1D x 29.3W x 24.3H cm, 2 kg 190 gAmazon.in listing

Why it's on the list

  • Removable bun attachment that keeps food warm
  • Separate levers for 2 or 4 slices
  • Defrost, warm-up and stop functions

Worth knowing

  • Everything here comes from the listing. We have no Westinghouse page for this model or its part number to check it against, and the listing gives no usage or safety instructions and doesn't say a manual is in the box, so look for one in the box before first use.
  • The title calls the bun attachment removable, and a bullet says it can be folded out. The listing doesn't list what comes in the box.
  • At 24.3 cm it is the tallest of the three picks as listed, so check the clearance under any wall cabinet.

Skip it if you need a brand page to confirm the specs before you buy, you want a separate browning setting for each pair of slots, or you never warm buns or rolls.

The reasoning

The WETR4 is here for warming buns. Its title lists a removable bun attachment, and a bullet describes an attachment that keeps food warm or works as a roll attachment and can be folded out. Neither of the other two picks mentions one in its listing or on the brand page we read.

On functions it matches the other two picks. The listing names defrost, warm-up and stop functions, bread centring, 6 browning levels and a crumb tray its title calls extendable, and a bullet says separate compartments with separate levers let you toast 2 or 4 slices. The title gives a 2-Yr Warranty, and the listing doesn't mention registering.

It comes third because no brand page backs the listing. We have no Westinghouse page for the WETR4 or its part number, WKTTB809RD, so nothing settles the slip in its listing: the details table gives 1750 KW where the title and bullets say 1750 watts. The iBELL listing has a similar slip (10 settings in its details table against 7 in its bullets), but iBELL's page gives 7. The WETR4 also lists 6 browning levels, against 7 for the other two picks, and like the iBELL it describes no separate browning setting for each pair.

How the 3 picks compare

Russell Hobbs 18790…Best for most peopleiBELL CrustoF40 4-slice…If you want a smaller, lighter toasterWestinghouse WETR4 4-slice…If you also warm buns and rolls
Slots4 Source: Amazon.in listing and Russell Hobbs UK product page (18790)4 Source: Amazon.in listing and iBELL CrustoF40 product page4 Source: Amazon.in listing
Wattage1500 Watts in the details table; 1250 to 1500 Watt in the bullets Source: Amazon.in listing1400 Watts Source: iBELL CrustoF40 product page1750 watts in the title and bullets; 1750 KW in the details table Source: Amazon.in listing
Browning settings2 sets of controls, each with 7 settings Source: Russell Hobbs UK product page (18790)7 levels on a browning control dial (the listing's details table says 10 settings) Source: iBELL CrustoF40 product page6 Source: Amazon.in listing
FunctionsReheat, defrost (frozen on the UK page), cancel Source: Amazon.in listing and Russell Hobbs UK product page (18790)Defrost, reheat, cancel, auto shut-off Source: iBELL CrustoF40 product pageDefrost, warm-up, stop Source: Amazon.in listing
WarrantyTerm2 Years Manufacturer Warranty (listing).1 Year standard warranty on the listing and iBELL's page; both titles say 2 Year Warranty.2-Yr Warranty in the listing title; no warranty field in the details table.
Warranty: Extra yearsnone mentioned on the listing; the UK manual offers 1 extra year for registering within 28 days on a UK website.1 more year if registered within 30 days of delivery (listing); iBELL's registration form asks for the order ID and invoice.none mentioned.
Warranty: Coversnot stated for India; the UK manual covers defects affecting product functionality, repaired or replaced at Russell Hobbs' option, if the toaster is used and maintained as instructed.not stated.not stated.
Warranty: Main exclusionsnot stated for India; the UK manual limits spare parts such as crumb trays to a 1-year warranty.not stated.not stated.
Warranty: Servicenot stated for India; the UK manual says to contact the retailer first within 6 months of purchase, and, if Customer Service advises a return, says to send the toaster to Customer Service in the UK.not stated.not stated.
Warranty: Documentsnot stated for India; the UK manual asks you to say where and when you bought it and to include proof of purchase (till receipt) with a guarantee return; the listing puts a user manual cum warranty card in the box. Source: Amazon.in listing; Russell Hobbs UK user manual (18790) for the UK guarantee termsiBELL's service request form asks for the order number, serial number, date of purchase and invoice. Source: Amazon.in listing, iBELL CrustoF40 product page and iBELL's warranty registration and service request formsnot stated. Source: Amazon.in listing
Size and weight29.5D x 28.8W x 18H cm, 2 kg 570 g (Russell Hobbs UK's page gives a height of 225 mm) Source: Amazon.in listing and Russell Hobbs UK product page (18790)35D x 14.5W x 17H cm (listing; iBELL's page gives 35 x 14.5 x 17 cm), 2 kg (listing) Source: Amazon.in listing and iBELL CrustoF40 product page31.1D x 29.3W x 24.3H cm, 2 kg 190 g Source: Amazon.in listing
Amazon.inCheck priceCheck priceCheck price

from the brand's own page or manual from the Amazon.in listing both. Values are copied as the source states them.

How we got from 30 listings to 3 picks

  1. 30 listings read
  2. 11 shortlisted
  3. 3 picks
  1. Russell Hobbs 18790: pick #1
  2. iBELL CrustoF40: pick #2
  3. Westinghouse WETR4: pick #3
  4. Bajaj 370080: shortlisted, not picked
  5. Sujata 1500: shortlisted, not picked
  6. Morphy Richards 370060: shortlisted, not picked
  7. USHA 40015ITOASTPT441N: shortlisted, not picked
  8. Russell Hobbs 17700: shortlisted, not picked
  9. ITALIA 7900: shortlisted, not picked
  10. BOSS Eden: shortlisted, not picked
  11. WARMEX HOME APPLIANCES Toasty: shortlisted, not picked
  12. Bajaj 270030: Not a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
  13. Pigeon 12470: Not a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
  14. KENT Crisp Pop Up Toaster 16105: Not a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
  15. PHILIPS HD2582/90: Not a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
  16. Morphy Richards AT 200: Not a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
  17. PHILIPS HD2583/90: Not a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
  18. KENT 116167: Not a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
  19. iBELL CrustoF20: Not a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
  20. Wonderchef WCPUT01WRPUT20: Not a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
  21. Sujata 900: Not a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
  22. MILTON CELAPUT002WHTE0001: Too little buyer history on Amazon.in
  23. Hamilton Beach 22796: Not a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
  24. SHEFFIELD CLASSIC SH-6021: Not a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
  25. MILTON Popup Toaster Matte White: Not a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
  26. Havells GHCPTCJK075: Not a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
  27. amazon basics 600W: Not a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
  28. KENT 116197B: Not a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
  29. Lipzie 91AID1017.10615.pop.up.toaster.1200w_DK: Too little buyer history on Amazon.in
  30. wipro VA021020: Not a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
  • The pick (1)
  • Alternatives (2)
  • Shortlisted, not picked (8)
  • Cut (19)

Cut 19: 17 × not a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title · 2 × too little buyer history on Amazon.in

  • Cut 17 listings that weren't four-slice pop-up toasters, mostly 2-slice models from brands such as Bajaj, Philips, KENT, Havells, Pigeon and Wonderchef.
  • Cut 2 four-slice pop-up toasters, from MILTON and Lipzie, for having too little buyer history on Amazon.in, so they aren't compared here.
  • Of the 11 left, two listings are the same Morphy Richards toaster in black and in white, counted here as one model, and one, from Warmex, is a flat toaster rather than a pop-up.
  • Compared the rest on whether reheat, defrost and cancel are named, browning settings and whether each pair of slots has its own control, wattage, listed size and weight, and the warranty term and its conditions.
  • Read brand pages for 3 of the models: Russell Hobbs UK's page and user manual for the Russell Hobbs stainless steel four-slice (we have no Indian Russell Hobbs page), iBELL's page for the CrustoF40, with its warranty registration and service request forms, and Bajaj Electricals' page for the black Morphy Richards. Russell Hobbs UK's site search returned nothing for the other Russell Hobbs model, and we have no brand page for the other models.
See all 30 listings we read
#BrandModelOutcomeWhy
1Russell Hobbs18790Pick #1Best for most people
2iBELLCrustoF40Pick #2If you want a smaller, lighter toaster
3WestinghouseWETR4Pick #3If you also warm buns and rolls
4Bajaj370080ShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
5Sujata1500ShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
6Morphy Richards370060ShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
7USHA40015ITOASTPT441NShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
8Russell Hobbs17700ShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
9ITALIA7900ShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
10BOSSEdenShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
11WARMEX HOME APPLIANCESToastyShortlistedCompared with the shortlist; not picked
12Bajaj270030CutNot a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
13Pigeon12470CutNot a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
14KENTCrisp Pop Up Toaster 16105CutNot a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
15PHILIPSHD2582/90CutNot a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
16Morphy RichardsAT 200CutNot a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
17PHILIPSHD2583/90CutNot a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
18KENT116167CutNot a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
19iBELLCrustoF20CutNot a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
20WonderchefWCPUT01WRPUT20CutNot a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
21Sujata900CutNot a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
22MILTONCELAPUT002WHTE0001CutToo little buyer history on Amazon.in
23Hamilton Beach22796CutNot a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
24SHEFFIELD CLASSICSH-6021CutNot a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
25MILTONPopup Toaster Matte WhiteCutNot a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
26HavellsGHCPTCJK075CutNot a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
27amazon basics600WCutNot a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
28KENT116197BCutNot a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title
29Lipzie91AID1017.10615.pop.up.toaster.1200w_DKCutToo little buyer history on Amazon.in
30wiproVA021020CutNot a 4-slice pop-up toaster, by its own title

What we ruled out

  • Morphy Richards AT 402 (370080 black, 370060 white)Two listings for the same toaster in black and white. Both give 1450 Watts, 7 browning levels, bread centring, a removable crumb tray and a 2-year warranty, and Bajaj Electricals' page for the black one agrees. But neither the parts of either listing we could read nor that page names reheat or defrost, and of the parts we could read, only the white listing names a cancel function.
  • Russell Hobbs 17700Its details table gives a size of 5D x 5W x 5H cm, and like the Westinghouse WETR4 it has no brand page we could check it against. It names a bun warmer, cancel, frozen and reheat functions, 7 browning levels and a 2-year warranty its bullets say covers manufacturing defects, but the listing is also unclear on capacity: the title says 4-Slice and the details table 4 slots, while its extra-long-slots bullet says you can toast two slices at once.
  • Sujata PT12 (1500)It names reheat and defrost, 1500 Watts and a high-lift feature, but its title, bullets and details table state no warranty term and name no cancel function. Its title gives 7 heating modes while a bullet calls them four customizable heating modes.
  • Usha iToast (40015ITOASTPT441N)It lists 32 mm wider slots, a cord winder, 1400 Watts, 6 browning settings and 2 years on product, but its title, bullets and details table name no reheat, defrost or cancel function.
  • ITALIA 4-Slice (7900)It lists a cancel button, 6 browning controls and 1400 Watts, but names no reheat or defrost. Its listing gives a 1-year warranty, the same term as the CrustoF40's standard warranty.
  • Boss Eden (B08F41KBV5)It lists 1100 Watts, 7 heat settings and a 2 year warranty, but the parts of its listing we could read name no reheat, defrost or cancel function.

Before you buy

  1. Check that reheat and defrost are actually named

    Several 4-slice listings name browning levels but no reheat or defrost. The parts of the Morphy Richards AT 402 and Boss Eden listings we could read, and the Usha iToast and ITALIA listings, name neither reheat nor defrost, so if you toast frozen bread, look for the word in the listing before you order.

  2. Read how the warranty is earned

    The iBELL listing adds its second year only if you register within 30 days of delivery. The Russell Hobbs 18790 and Westinghouse listings give 2 years and don't mention registering. None of the three listings says what the warranty covers or excludes, or whether service is at your home or at a service centre, so look for those terms in the paperwork that comes in the box, if any, or ask the seller; each pick's warranty block sets out what its sources do say.

  3. Check the socket

    The pop-up toasters on the shortlist list 1100 to 1750 watts, and the Westinghouse lists the most of the three picks, 1750 watts. Of the shortlist, only the Morphy Richards AT 402 listings name a plug type, a 16A three-pin top. None of our three picks' listings or brand pages states the plug type, so check it on the box or in the manual before you plan the socket.

  4. Run it empty first

    Russell Hobbs' UK manual for the 18790 says to set the browning level to maximum and run the toaster empty before first use, in a well-ventilated room, as the new elements may smell a little. Check your own toaster's manual for the same step.

Questions buyers ask

Can I toast just two slices in a 4-slice toaster?

On two of the three picks, yes: the Russell Hobbs 18790 listing says each pair of slots has its own browning control, so one side can work as a 2-slice toaster, and the Westinghouse WETR4 listing says separate levers let you toast 2 or 4 slices. The iBELL CrustoF40 listing and iBELL's page don't say whether its slots work in separate pairs. Russell Hobbs' UK manual adds that when you use a single slot, the other slot should be empty.

Will these toasters run on Indian mains power?

On paper, yes: all three picks state a mains voltage in the 220 to 240 V range on the listing or brand page: iBELL's page gives 220 to 240 V for the CrustoF40, the Russell Hobbs 18790 listing gives 240 Volts and the Westinghouse WETR4 listing 230 Volts. None of the three says which plug it ships with.

Can these 4-slice toasters toast bread straight from the freezer?

On paper, yes: all three picks name a defrost or frozen setting. Russell Hobbs' UK manual says the 18790's frozen button changes the toasting time automatically, iBELL's page lists defrost for the CrustoF40, and the Westinghouse listing describes a dedicated button for defrosting frozen bread.

How long is each 4-slice toaster's warranty, and do I need to register?

Two years on all three picks' listings, but the iBELL CrustoF40's second year needs registration within 30 days of delivery, and iBELL's page says 1 Year standard warranty. The Russell Hobbs 18790 and Westinghouse WETR4 listings don't mention registering. Russell Hobbs' UK manual offers an extra year for registering on a UK website, but those terms are written for UK buyers. None of the three listings says what the warranty covers or excludes; each pick's warranty block sets out what its sources say.

How thick a slice will these 4-slice toasters fit?

Russell Hobbs' UK manual for the 18790 gives a maximum bread thickness of 26mm. The iBELL CrustoF40 listing and page and the Westinghouse WETR4 listing give no slot width or bread thickness.

What comes in the box with these 4-slice toasters?

The iBELL CrustoF40 comes with the toaster and a user manual, according to both its listing and iBELL's page. The Russell Hobbs 18790 listing names the toaster and a user manual cum warranty card, and the Westinghouse WETR4 listing doesn't list its contents.

More in Kitchen